Granite quarries

What is granite?

Granite is an assemblage of quartz crystals, feldspar and mica flakes. This assemblage of grains, from the Latin "granum" gave the name of granite. Note the two spellings of the word for two different contexts: -granit for quarrymen and architects -granite for geologists

The origins of granite

Granite is an eruptive rock rising from the magmatic depths of the earth. Cracks occurring in the earth’s crust, under strong pressure of magma, the latter reaches the surface of the globe giving volcanoes. However, it is only when the magma stops its rise towards the surface that it constitutes the granite, kind of volcano "aborted". Granite was formed in Trégor 300 million years ago when a huge pocket of magma was formed underground at 4 or 5 km deep, from Trébeurden to Ploumanac’h. A few hundred thousand years later, the magma was completely cooled. This long cooling has favored the formation of mineral crystals. The longer the cooling, the larger these grains of minerals. This is our granite that was made visible thanks to the gradual erosion of the soil, thus discovering the rocks hidden in the depth of the earth.

Tetror granite massifs

There are three different granite beds:
- massif linking Perros-Guirec and Bréhat (the oldest)
- Plouaret massif
- massif of Ploumanac’h in Trébeurden 3 kinds of granite: granite of Clarity (large pink to red feldspars) blue and white granite of Ile-Grande
A little history

- 6000 to 6500 years ago, rise of the first megaliths Ex: dolmens island Bono and Trébeurden, menhir of Pleumeur-Bodou and covered walkways of Trégastel and Ile-Grande

- A few millennia later, Gallic stelae of Trébeurden or Plestin-les Grèves

- From the 12th to the 17th century, construction of chapels and churches Ex: Tréguier cathedral built with granite from Ile-Grande Construction of granite houses until the 20th century

- 19th century: industry and trade develop Construction of houses, factories, docks, lighthouses, bridges, viaducts, paving stones, ...
Exploitation of granite on Ile Grande

The success of the granite of Ile-Grande stems, first of all, from its undeniable practical aspect: because of its insular situation, the granite reserves are easy to reach and immediately available. In addition, since most islets of Ile-Grande are uninhabited, the sites do not represent any extraction constraints. Finally, note the great quality and diversity of Granite Island-Grandais. From a regional point of view, it was here that extractions were most active from the second half of the 19th century to the beginning of the 20th century and these 14 hectares of quarries constitute the finest example of granite quarrying. by the seaside...

From the end of the Middle Ages and during the Renaissance, the extraction of granite from Ile-Grande is necessary for the construction of churches but it remains marginal. It is only from 1827 that the Municipal Council, anxious to preserve the viability of the roads and to control the "wild" extraction, while benefiting from this trade, decides to legislate on the exploitation of the granite. From 1950 onwards, reefs and small islands of the archipelago are leased to operators for successive periods of 6 to 9 years. Carriers come from everywhere, especially the Chausey and Cotentin Islands. Between the years 1860 and 1910, the population doubled. Fifty years during which the extraction of granite, of the order of 800 tons per day, will be at its peak on Ile-Grande which becomes "the island of the carriers". Cobblestones, curbs, quay walls and more, the granites of Ile-Grande are exported to the coasts of the Channel and the Atlantic. Landed in ports such as Caen, Cherbourg, Boulogne, Dunkirk, Bordeaux or Bayonne, partly used on site, they are routed to many inland areas such as Le Havre, Rouen, Paris, Pau, Lourdes, etc ... Brittany itself, they will be used for the construction of the Lighthouse des Héaux at Bréhat, the viaduct of Morlaix, the lighthouse of Triagoz, the church of Louannec, the station and the aqueduct of Saint-Brieuc, the quai de Portrieux , the Lézardrieux viaduct and more!

Some great careers

- Kastell Erek This quarry is the most important of the projects, both in terms of extension and volume of extractions. A thick wall, still visible today, will be built to protect it from the entrances of the sea. The blue and gray granites will be extracted from 1908 to 1979, date of the end of exploitation since the quarry will be ceded to the Protective League of Birds.

- Toul ar Staon The tip of Toul ar Staon is a rocky tongue on the west of the Ile-Grande where the erection was intense from the beginning of the century to the end of the 1940’s. There are still visible the ruins of former gingerbread houses, transformed into a hostel bombed by the Germans during the Second World War.

- Carrière Roïc Facing the covered walkway, this quarry was endowed not only with an extraction site but also with a storage area and a pruning workshop.

- Quarry Brintec’h An extraction site that overflows with water when the sea is high, the Brintec’h quarry, named after its operator, was exploited from 1930 to 1960 for its blue granite.

- Ile Corbeau (Enez Vran) The island still has traces of intense exploitation of blue granite with black or gray mica, which is why a forge was built on the flat part of the site. Only the Île-Grandais were entitled to extraction, the only drawback being the transport of granite to a loading dock.

- The West Islands Agathon: one of the largest quarries on the islands, with a railroad for loading stones. There remain the ruins of the forge and shelters. Ile Losquet: it was the object of an intensive extraction and shelters today the equipments of France Telecom. Ile Fougère: chosen to supply the viaduct of Morlaix among others, there are still the remains of a wharf and buildings.

- The islands of the East Morvil Island: characterized by the extraction of blue granite, this island was used for the construction of the lighthouse of Héaux de Bréhat. Plate Island and Aval Island: also famous for their blue granite. Ile Jaouen: also supplied the viaduct of Morlaix.

The transport of granite

Bricks, schooners or barges have long been the only means of transporting the granite blocks that were then loaded at low tide. When these boats could not dock, we used the "cuckoo", a kind of small barque-well that could raise 7000 kg blocks taken at high tide under the hull and thus carried the granite to the largest ships. But navigation in the middle of the pitfalls is dangerous and many boats such as "Providence" or "Mathilde" will beach near the coast. It was not until 1907 that a rail embankment was built by the quarrymen themselves at the current Saint-Sauveur harbor. Routed by small train from the various quarries of Ile-Grande, the granite blocks were then embarked on gabare or other boat, transported to the quai du Leguer and then wheeled to Lannion station.

Life of the Carriers

The exploitation of granite is one thing, the daily quarry is another. And finally, more than the industrial or artisanal aspect, it is the human resources that determine the true identity of a place or a commune. The living and working conditions of these men were very difficult. At Ile-Grande, the sons were either sailors or carriers, depending on their father’s choice. And for these sons, it was better to embark on a ship than to be a stonemason, a job that was harder and less popular. At the age of 12-13, they left either as a moss or apprentice-carrier. No matter the weather and the outside temperature, you had to go to work. It was only in the case of extreme weather conditions that the quarrymen working on the islets turned around, rain, wind, mist that prevented them from reaching their place of work. When it was really cold, the quarrymen would warm up around the hearth of the forge and drink a bowl of hot soup. It was the women who brought them the lunch when the amplitude of the tide allowed them: potatoes, bread soup, bacon, periwinkles, barnacles, and for drink brandy and "piquette", drink based slices of boiled apples. The quarrymen were most often paid for the task, and this for a fee often derisory, 4 to 7 francs (maximum exceptional, applied on the island Fern only) per day. Not only poorly paid, the workers had to endure a large daily hour range of about 12 hours, especially the summer by the length of the days. Finally, the risks of the trade were not negligible, tailor, splitter, polisher or blacksmith, no one was safe from an accident.

In view of these harsh working conditions, Ile-Grande has every reason to be proud of the courage and merit of its quarrymen and have left traces of a memory that is still alive on every block of granite. peninsula.

The end of careers

From 1914, the shortage of manpower is felt at the dawn of this first world war which mobilizes many men. The war over, the quarrymen remain in short supply, the granite demand decreases along with the wages. A few handfuls of workers leave the farms of Ile-Grande around 1930 to win other careers, including that of Clarity, where they will be better paid. On August 16, 1936 (victory of the Popular Front), the workers lead a five-week strike following which they will obtain a salary increase of only 10 centimes. There will be conflicts of interest, mostly political, but also the bitumen era that will see the final decline of careers on Ile-Grande whose extraction will cease completely in 1989.

AGENDA
of the events

See the program

Prepare your stay

Discover our accommodations

Accueil  > Histoire et patrimoine

Les carrières de granit

L’exploitation du granit à l’Ile Grande

Qu’est ce que le granit ?

Le granit est un assemblage de cristaux de quartz, de feldspath et de paillettes de mica. Cet assemblage de grains, du latin "granum" donna le nom de granit. A noter les deux orthographes du mot pour deux contextes différents : -granit pour les carriers et architectes -granite pour les géologues

Les origines du granit

Le granit est une roche éruptive surgie des profondeurs magmatiques de la terre. Des fissures se produisant dans la croûte terrestre, sous forte pression du magma, ce dernier atteint la surface du globe donnant les volcans. Or, ce n’est que lorsque le magma arrête sa montée vers la surface qu’il constitue le granite, sorte de volcan "avorté". Le granit s’est donc formé dans le Trégor il y a 300 millions d’années lorsqu’une poche énorme de magma s’est formée sous terre à 4 ou 5 km de profondeur, allant de Trébeurden à Ploumanac’h. Quelques centaines de milliers d’années plus tard, le magma fut complètement refroidi. Ce long refroidissement a favorisé la formation de cristaux de minéraux. Plus le refroidissement est long, plus ces grains de minéraux sont gros. Voilà donc notre granite qui fut rendu visible grâce à l’érosion progressive des sols, découvrant ainsi les roches cachées dans la profondeur de la terre.

Massifs granitiques du Trégor

Il existe trois différents massifs de granit :
- massif reliant Perros-Guirec et Bréhat (le plus ancien)
- massif de Plouaret
- massif de Ploumanac’h à Trébeurden 3 sortes de granit :*granit de la Clarté (gros feldspaths roses à rouges)*granit bleu et blanc de l’Ile-Grande

Un peu d’histoire

- Il y a 6000 à 6500 ans, élévation des premiers mégalithes Ex : dolmens île Bono et Trébeurden, menhir de Pleumeur-Bodou et allées couvertes de Trégastel et Ile-Grande

- Quelques millénaires plus tard, stèles gauloises de Trébeurden ou Plestin-les Grèves

- Du XIIe au XVIIe siècle, édification de chapelles et églises Ex : cathédrale de Tréguier construite avec du granit de l’Ile-Grande Construction de maisons en granit jusqu’au XXe siècle

- XIXe siècle : industrie et commerce se développent Construction de maisons, fabriques, quais, phares, ponts, viaducs, pavés de rue,...

Exploitation du granit à l’Ile Grande

Le succès du granit de l’Ile-Grande provient, en premier lieu, de son aspect pratique indéniable : du fait de sa situation insulaire, les réserves granitiques sont faciles à atteindre et immédiatement disponibles. De plus, la plupart des îlots de l’Ile-Grande étant inhabités, les sites ne représentent aucune contrainte d’extraction. Enfin, on notera les grandes qualité et diversité des granits île-grandais. D’un point de vue régional, c’est en ces lieux que les extractions ont été les plus actives de la seconde partie du XIXe siècle au début du XXe siècle et ces 14 hectares de carrières constituent le plus bel exemple d’extraction de granit en bord de mer...

Dès la fin du Moyen-Age et pendant la Renaissance, l’extraction du granit de l’Ile-Grande est nécessité pour la construction d’églises mais elle reste marginale. Ce n’est qu’à partir de 1827 que le Conseil Municipal, soucieux de préserver la viabilité des chemins et de contrôler l’extraction "sauvage", tout en tirant bénéfice de ce commerce, décide de légiférer sur l’exploitation du granit. A partir de 1950, écueils et petites îles de l’archipel sont louées à des exploitants pour des périodes successives de 6 à 9 ans. Les carriers viennent de partout, en particulier des îles Chausey et du Cotentin. Entre les années 1860 et 1910, la population double. Cinquante années pendant lesquelles l’extraction du granite, de l’ordre de 800 tonnes par jour, sera à son apogée à l’Ile-Grande qui devient "l’île des carriers". Pavés, bordures de trottoirs, murs de quais et autres, les granites de l’Ile-Grande sont exportés sur les côtes de la Manche et de l’Atlantique. Débarqués dans des ports tels que Caen, Cherbourg, Boulogne, Dunkerque, Bordeaux ou Bayonne, en partie utilisés sur place, ils sont acheminés vers de nombreuses régions intérieures telles que Le Havre, Rouen, Paris, Pau, Lourdes, etc... En Bretagne-même, ils serviront à la construction du phare des Héaux à Bréhat, du viaduc de Morlaix, du phare des Triagoz, de l’église de Louannec, de la gare et de l’aqueduc de Saint-Brieuc, du quai de Portrieux, du viaduc de Lézardrieux et plus encore !

Quelques grandes carrières

- Kastell Erek Cette carrière représente le plus important des chantiers, tant par son extension que par le volume des extractions. Un mur épais, toujours visible aujourd’hui, sera construit pour la protéger des entrées de la mer. Les granites bleu et gris en seront extraits de 1908 à 1979, date de la fin d’exploitation puisque la carrière finira par être cédée à la Ligue Protectrice des Oiseaux.

- Toul ar Staon La pointe de Toul ar Staon est une langue de roche à l’ouest de l’Ile-Grande où l’extaction fut intense du début du siècle à la fin des années 1940. Y sont encore visibles les ruines d’anciennes maisons de goëmoniers, transformées en auberge de jeunesse bombardée par les allemands pendant la seconde guerre mondiale.

- Carrière Roïc Située face à l’allée couverte, cette carrière était dotée non seulement d’un chantier d’extraction mais également d’une aire de stockage et d’un atelier de taille.

- Carrière Brintec’h Chantier d’extraction qui se recouvre d’eau lorsque la mer est haute, la carrière Brintec’h, du nom de son exploitant, fut exploitée de 1930 à 1960 pour son granite bleu.

- Ile Corbeau (Enez Vran) L’île conserve les traces d’une exploitation intense du granite bleu à mica noir ou gris, raison pour laquelle fut construite une forge sur la partie plate du site. Seuls les île-grandais y avaient droit d’extraction, l’unique inconvénient étant le transport du granit jusqu’à un quai d’embarquement.

- Les îles de l’ouest Agathon : une des plus grande carrière sur les îles, dotée d’une voie ferrée pour le chargement des pierres. Y subsistent les ruines de la forge et des abris. Ile Losquet : elle fut l’objet d’une extraction intensive et abrite aujourd’hui les équipements de France Télécom. Ile Fougère : choisie pour approvisionner le viaduc de Morlaix entre autre, s’y trouvent encore les vestiges d’un quai et de constructions.

- Les îles de l’est Ile Morvil : caractérisée par l’extraction du granite bleu, cette île a servi pour la construction du phare des Héaux de Bréhat. Ile Plate et île d’Aval : également célèbres pour leur granite bleu. Ile Jaouen : approvisionna aussi le viaduc de Morlaix.

Le transport du granit

Bricks, goélettes ou gabares ont longtemps représenté l’unique moyen de transporter les blocs de granite qui étaient alors chargés à marée basse. Lorsque ces bateaux ne pouvaient accoster, on utilisait le "coucou", sorte de petite barque-puits qui pouvait soulever des blocs de 7000 kilos pris à marée haute sous la coque et transportait ainsi le granite jusqu’aux plus gros navires. Mais la navigation au milieu des écueils est dangereuse et de nombreux bateaux tels que "la Providence" ou "la Mathilde" s’échoueront aux abords de la côte. Il faudra attendre 1907 pour qu’un quai d’embarquement sur rails soit construit par les carriers eux-mêmes au port actuel Saint-Sauveur. Acheminés par petit train des différentes carrières de l’Ile-Grande, les blocs de granit étaient alors embarqués sur gabare ou autre bateau, transportés jusqu’au quai du Leguer puis brouettés jusqu’en gare de Lannion.

La vie des carriers

L’exploitation du granit est une chose, le quotidien des carriers en est une autre. Et finalement, plus que l’aspect industriel ou artisanal, ce sont les ressources humaines qui déterminent l’identité véritable d’un lieu ou d’une commune. Les conditions de vie et de travail de ces hommes étaient très difficiles. A l’Ile-Grande, les fils étaient soit marins, soit carriers, suivant le choix de leur père. Et pour ces fils, mieux valait embarquer sur un navire qu’être tailleur de pierre, métier qui était plus dur et bien moins populaire. A l’âge de 12-13 ans, ils partaient donc soit comme mousse, soit comme apprenti-carrier. Peu importaient le temps et la température extérieure, il fallait aller travailler. Ce n’est que dans le cas de conditions atmosphériques extrêmes que les carriers travaillant sur les îlots faisaient demi-tour, force de pluie, de vent, de brume qui les empêchaient d’atteindre leur lieu de travail. Lorsque vraiment il faisait trop froid, les carriers allaient se réchauffer au coin de l’âtre de la forge et boire un bol de soupe chaude. Ce sont les femmes qui leur apportaient le repas du midi lorsque l’amplitude de la marée le leur permettait : pommes de terre, soupe au pain, lard, bigorneaux, berniques, et pour boisson eau de vie et "piquette", breuvage à base de rondelles de pommes bouillies. Les carriers étaient le plus souvent payés à la tâche, et ce pour un salaire souvent dérisoire, de 4 à 7 francs (maximum exceptionnel, appliqué sur l’île Fougère uniquement) par jour. Non seulement mal payés, les ouvriers devaient supporter une importante amplitude horaire journalière de l’ordre de 12 heures, en particulier l’été de par l’allongement des journées. Enfin, les risques du métier n’étaient pas négligeables, tailleur, fendeur, polisseur ou forgeron, nul n’était à l’abri d’un accident.

Aux vues de ces rudes conditions de travail, Ile-Grande a donc toutes les raisons de s’enorgueillir du courage et du mérite de ses carriers qui ont d’ailleurs laissé les traces d’une mémoire toujours vivante sur chaque bloc de granit de l’actuelle presqu’île.

La fin des carrières

Dès 1914, la pénurie de main-d’œuvre se fait ressentir à l’aube de cette première guerre mondiale qui mobilise beaucoup d’hommes. La guerre finie, les carriers restent en nombre insuffisant, la demande en granit diminue en même temps que les salaires. Quelques poignées d’ouvriers quitteront les exploitations de l’Ile-Grande vers 1930 pour gagner d’autres carrières, notamment celle de la Clarté, où ils seront mieux payés. Le 16 août 1936 (victoire du Front Populaire), les ouvriers conduisent une grève de cinq semaines suite à laquelle ils obtiendront une augmentation de salaire de 10 centimes seulement. S’en suivront des conflits d’intérêt, pour la plupart politique, mais également l’ère du bitume qui verra le déclin final des carrières de l’Ile-Grande dont l’extraction cessera complètement en 1989.

Histoire et patrimoine :
> Le Radôme de Pleumeur Bodou
> Les carrières de granit
> Le Granit Rose Tour
> Patrimoine mégalithique
> Patrimoine traditionnel